Skull Anatomy 101

Labeled Bones of the Skull 

The human skull is generally considered to consist of 22 bones
eight cranial bones and fourteen facial skeleton bones.

In the Neurocranium (cranial vault/calvaria), 
there are two parietal bones, the occipital bone, and the frontal bone.

In the Cranial Base (basis cranii),
there are two temporal bones, the sphenoid bone, and the ethmoid bone.

In the Viscerocranium,
there is the lacrimal bone, nasal bone, vomer, inferior nasal concha,
zygomatic bone, palatine bone, maxilla, mandible, and the hyoid bone.